The LHC, Particle Physics and the Cosmos: July 13-15 2012


Registration form


This three day conference will take place from July 13 to 15, 2012, following the ICHEP meeting in Melbourne, and brings together researchers in theoretical and experimental particle physics, cosmology, astrophysics and astronomy. The conference will focus on recent results from the LHC, direct and indirect searches for dark matter, observational astrophysics, neutrino physics, and the quest to build a coherent account of the evolution of the universe, from the big bang through to the present day.

We plan to have plenary talks in the morning, and break into smaller parallel sessions in the afternoon.

Plenary Speakers [INCOMPLETE]

  • Jenni Adams (Canterbury)
  • Thomas Appelquist (Yale)
  • Ayana Arce (Duke)
  • Craig Group (U. Virginia)
  • JoAnne Hewett (SLAC)
  • Soo-Bong Kim (Seoul National University)
  • Thomas Rizzo (SLAC)
  • Manuel Calderón de la Barca Sánchez (UC Davis)
  • Tracy Slatyer (Institute for Advanced Study)
  • Mark Trodden (U Penn)
  • Jay Wacker (SLAC)


Location: The conference will be held on the University of Auckland Campus, New Zealand.  Auckland is the largest city in New Zealand, built around a spectacular natural harbour, and the gateway to New Zealand for most international travelers.  Auckland International Airport is a major hub for travel in the South Pacific. It is slightly less than three hours by air from Melbourne, Australia (where ICHEP is being held), and around 12 hours by air from the West Coast of the United States.


Registration: Registration is now open; click here for registration form.  Registration is NZ$295 [approximately US$245, £155, €180] , covering lunch, morning and afternoon tea for three days during the conference, and a reception on Friday July 13.  Note that you can register now and pay separately.


Accommodation: Discounted rates have been negotiated at three conference hotels, all within walking distance of the conference venue and central Auckland; please make your own bookings. Click here for hotel details.


View The LHC, Particle Physics and Cosmology in a larger map


Deadlines:  Please submit abstracts by June 15 — programme now being finalized (EXTENDED FOR PEOPLE STILL ARRANGING ICHEP TRAVEL)


Registration form

Organizing Committee

  • Richard Easther (U of Auckland)
  • Mark Kruse (Duke)
  • Stephen Parke (Fermilab)
  • Jenni Adams   (U of Canterbury)
  • Nathaniel Bowden  (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory)
  • Gene Flanagan  (Muons, Inc)
  • Francis Halzen   (U of Wisconsin Madison)
  • JoAnne Hewett  (SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory)
  • David Krofcheck   (U of Auckland)
  • Tony Signal  (Massey)
  • Matt Visser  (Victoria University of Wellington)